Meet This Years: European Shooting Stars (2021)

This year ten lucky selectees across Europe have been invited by the European Film Promotion (EFP) to compete for this years European Shooting Stars Award.

They are: Fionn O'Shea (Ireland), Alba Baptista (Portugal), Martijn Lakemeier (Netherlands), Seidi Haarla (Finland), Nicolas Maury (France), Natasa Stork (Hungary), Gustav Lindh (Sweden), Sara Klimoska (North Macedonia), Albrecht Schuch (Germany) and Žygimantė Elena Jakštaitė from Lithuania.

...So, what are the European Shooting Stars?

Before the Berlin International Film Festival ('Berlinale') each year a jury of industry professionals selects ten internationally up-and-coming actors from all over Europe to be introduced to the press, industry and public at Berlinale. The ten are each nominated by the EFP member organisations to take part in the programme.

As a European Shooting Star, the actors and actresses are invited to the tailor-made programme, including meetings with casting directors, talent agents and producers, which broadens and strengthens their international industry alliances and networks. The activities culminate in a glamorous presentation of the European Shooting Stars Awards at the Berlinale Palast.

Past European Shooting Stars (from UK and Ireland): Rachel Weisz (1988), Daniel Craig (2000) to Sarah Bolger (2009), George McKay (2014) and Michaela Coel (2018).

Since 1998, 323 European actors (178 women / 145 men) from 34 countries were awarded as a EUROPEAN SHOOTING STAR.

Who are this years 2021 Jury?

Every year EFP appoints a jury of prominent industry figures (director, producer, actor, casting director, film journalist) to select Europe's best young actors from a variety of up-and-coming acting talent from all over Europe.

This years 2021 jury consists of: Kosovan Director Antoneta Kastrati, American Casting Director Cassandra Han and Danish Producer René Ezra.

Combining their diverse expertise in the various fields of the creative filmmaking process, the jury will select the ten most talented and internationally diverse young actors and actresses from the candidates who have been nominated by their respective EFP member organisations for the upcoming edition of EUROPEAN SHOOTING STARS.

What about Covid19, will that not impact this year?

Of Course it will. But, EFP's Managing Director Sonja Heinen has a solution and that is to go all Digital, she says:

"Although this year we sadly cannot meet in person, we invite you to join, discover and celebrate the best in rising European acting talent, while staying safe at home. We are thrilled that we have been able to create a digital experience via our online 'Home of Acting Talent".

And on that note ... the show must go on! Here is a trailer for this years 'Shooting Stars' —

You can also catch up with the full Kick Off-Show on YouTube with host Edith Bowman, incase you missed it —



To learn more about each of this years 'Shooting Stars' and watch our interviews with them, please click on their individual names below:

Seidi Haarla (Finland)

Fionn O'Shea (Ireland)

Gustav Lindh (Sweden)

Natasa Stork (Hungary)

Alba Baptista (Portugal)

Martijn Lakemeier (Netherlands)

Žygimantė Elena Jakštaitė (Lithuania)

For more information on the European Shooting Stars, visit the European Film Promotion website at


Popcorn Magazine relies on you by supporting our independent journalism. We are not funded by any shareholders and we depend on you, our reader. Writing compelling stories, informing and educating the world is what we live for. Therefore we have a small favour to ask. You can influence journalism and help change the future. Support Popcorn Magazine from as little as £1 – it takes less than a minute.

For more News and Celebrity Interviews, please follow #PopcornHub

Twitter @PopcornHub | IG @PopcornHub | YouTube @PopcornHub.